Statement by the Members of the Informal Ministerial Network for the International Criminal Court:

Activating the Court's jurisdiction over the Crime of Aggression in 2017

We, the Ministers of the Informal Ministerial Network for the International Criminal Court (ICC), welcome the 30 ratifications of the Kampala amendments to the Rome Statute on the crime of aggression, which enables State Parties to activate the jurisdiction of the ICC over this crime after 1 January 2017. While not all of us are among the ratifying States, we acknowledge the importance of the decision we collectively took at the Kampala Review Conference in 2010. The crime of aggression completes the Rome Statute as conceived in 1998 and will ensure that perpetrators of the most serious forms of the illegal use of force can be held to account at the international level, for the first time since the Nuremberg and Tokyo trials. We therefore express our support for the Assembly of States Parties' work towards activating the ICC's jurisdiction over the crime of aggression after 1 January 2017 and look forward to a continuation of the successful ratification process.

Background: The Informal Ministerial Network for the ICC is comprised of over 30 Ministers from all regions of the world and is coordinated by the Foreign Minister of Liechtenstein.

Contact: Mr. Jörn Eiermann, Senior Adviser (legal, political) – Permanent Mission of Liechtenstein to the United Nations, New York

(t) +1 212 599 0220 ext. 227, (e) je@nyc.llv.li

Informal Ministerial Network (IMN) for the International Criminal Court List of participating Ministers

as of 25 August 2016

President of the Assembly	H.E. Mr. Sidiki Kaba, Minister of Justice of the Republic of Senegal
of States Parties	
Andorra	H.E. Mr. Gilbert Saboya Sunyé, Minister of Foreign Affairs
Argentina	H.E. Ms. Susana Malcorra, Minister of Foreign Affairs
Australia	H.E. Ms. Julie Bishop, Minister for Foreign Affairs
Austria	H.E. Mr. Sebastian Kurz, Minister for Foreign Affairs
Botswana	H.E. Ms. Pelonomi Venson-Moitoi, Minister for Foreign Affairs
Chile	H.E. Mr. Heraldo Muñoz, Minister for Foreign Affairs
Costa Rica	H.E. Mr. Manuel González Sanz, Minister for Foreign Affairs
Cyprus	H.E. Mr. Ioannis Kasoulides, Minister of Foreign Affairs
Czech Republic	H.E. Mr. Mr. Lubomír Zaorálek, Minister for Foreign Affairs
Denmark	H.E. Mr. Kristian Jensen, Minister for Foreign Affairs
Estonia	H.E. Ms. Marina Kaljurand, Minister of Foreign Affairs
Finland	H.E. Mr. Timo Soini, Minister for Foreign Affairs
Iceland	H.E. Ms. Lilja Alfredsdottir, Minister for Foreign Affairs
Ireland	H.E. Mr. Charles Flanagan, T.D., Minister for Foreign Affairs and Trade
Italy	H.E. Mr. Paolo Gentiloni, Minister for Foreign Affairs and International
	Cooperation
Lesotho	H.E. Mr. Tlohang Sekhamane, Minister for Foreign Affairs and International
	Relations
Liechtenstein	H.E. Ms. Aurelia Frick, Minister for Foreign Affairs
Luxembourg	H.E. Mr. Jean Asselborn, Minister of Foreign Affairs
The Former Yugoslav	H.E. Mr. Nikola Poposki, Minister of Foreign Affairs
Republic of Macedonia	
Mexico	H.E. Ms. Claudia Ruiz Massieu Salinas, Minster of Foreign Affairs
Netherlands	H.E. Mr. Albert Koenders, Minister for Foreign Affairs
New Zealand	Hon. Mr. Murray McCully, Minister of Foreign Affairs
Norway	H.E. Mr. Børge Brende, Minister for Foreign Affairs
Peru	H.E. Mr. Ricardo Luna Mendoza, Minister of Foreign Affairs
Slovakia	H.E. Mr. Miroslav Lajčák, Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Foreign
	Affairs
Slovenia	H.E. Mr. Karl Erjavec, Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Foreign Affairs
Sweden	H.E. Ms. Margot Wallström, Minister for Foreign Affairs
Switzerland	H.E. Mr. Didier Burkhalter, Federal Councillor and Head of the Department
	of Foreign Affairs
Timor-Leste	H.E. Mr. Hernâni Coelho, Minister of Foreign Affairs and Cooperation
Trinidad and Tobago	H.E. Mr. Dennis Moses, Minister for Foreign Affairs and CARICOM
Tunisia	H.E. Mr. Khemais Jhinaoui, Minister of Foreign Affairs
Uganda	H.E. Mr. Frederic Ruhindi, State Minister and Attorney General
	,

Other participant

Coalition for the International	Mr. William R. Pace
Criminal Court (CICC)	